移民投资解决方案律师事务所
移民, 投资, 国际贸易

I-9 合规

2012年美国的移民法已经发生了很多重要的变化。非移民和移民签证的处理(如H-1B签证和绿卡)对当前的经济和在美国和海外的美国领事馆加强执法方面是一个持续性的挑战。

 

所有雇主了解美国移民法所规定他们应履行的相应责任是很重要的一点。禁止雇主收费性的雇用,招聘或是推荐没有被授权在美国工作的人员。

 

美国雇主有责任检查所有员工的身份和就业授权的证明。雇主还必须完成并保留I-9, 它将证明如果雇员提供的身份文件和就业授权证书是伪证将受到相应的惩罚。美国雇主必须保存I-9表格至雇佣生效日起三年或终止就业一年后,以较迟者为准。

 

 美国移民和海关执法局(ICE)进行随机选择雇主制作表格I-9表格I-10合规进行审计。此外,美国移民和海关执法局(ICE)的审计人员也将要求雇主提供其他相应文件,其中可能包括工资,目前的员工名单,公司章程,营业执照等文件的副本。

 

任何不符合法律规定的用人单位将受到美国政府严厉的惩罚,包括民事罚款,刑事处罚和政府和约除名。每次违法行为的罚款范围从$375到$16,000不等。这些类型的处罚,不仅对雇主造成金钱损失,但会对企业的公众形象产生恶劣影响。

 

我律所的移民律师可以为您解答关于在移民法规定下雇主应履行的职责等相关问题。

Immigration & Investment Solutions PLLC
Immigration, Investment & International Trade

I-9 Compliance

There have been many important changes in the U.S. immigration laws and regulations in 2012. Nonimmigrant and immigrant visa processing (such as the H-1B and Green Card) continue to be a challenge in this economy and the increased enforcement in the U.S. and at American Consulates abroad.
It is important for all employers to know what their responsibilities are under the U.S. immigration laws. Employers are prohibited from hiring, recruiting or referring for a fee, a person who is not authorized to work in the United States.

 

U.S. employers are responsible for examining evidence of identity and employment authorization of all employees. Employers must also complete and retain Form I-9 which attests under penalty of perjury that an employee has produced the required documents showing identity and employment authorization.  U.S. Employers must keep I-9 forms for three years after the date of hire or for one year after employment is terminated, whichever is later.

 

The U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (“ICE”) conducts I-9 compliance audits by randomly selecting employers to produce forms I-9 Forms. Additionally, during the audits ICE will also request other documentation which may include a copy of the payroll, list of current employees, Articles of Incorporation, and business licenses.

 

Employers who do not comply with the law are subject harsh penalties by the U.S. government including civil fines, criminal penalties and debarment from government contracts. Monetary penalties can range from $375 to $16,000 per violation. These types of penalties not only cost employers money but will result adverse publicity of the business.

 

Our attorneys can assist answering questions employers may have regarding their responsibilities under immigration laws.